The Reason For It All

September 10, 2009 § 7 Comments

So I went on this fabulous trip to Portland and San Francisco…alone. Why? Why would I go to such beautiful places without anyone to enjoy them with? The answer: letterpress. This was a letterpress vacation. I went to learn the craft, meet new people, and see a city (Portland) that I’ve been waiting to see for so many years. I wanted to share some pictures with you regarding the real reason for my vacation.

My first stop was the IPRC (Independent Publishing Resource Center) in Portland where I took my first letterpress class and practiced for several evenings. The press room was so great.

IPRC Portland

IPRC Portland

So lucky to meet Ellen, an amazing person in Portland whom I had the pleasure of spending a lot of time with. It’s so much fun traveling and meeting people. Here, we’re setting type.

IPRC Portland

IPRC Portland

I made about 100 of these little cards and lined the envelopes with this fantastic paper. I really like the end result!

IPRC Portland

Mid week I took a one-on-one workshop with Inge Bruggeman of Textura Printing, an amazingly talented artisan and equally impressive teacher. Her studio was heavenly. She helped me make a lot of fun goodies, which will remain secrets right now. :)

Portland Letterpress

Portland Letterpress

Heidelberg Press

Back at the IPRC, locking type.

IPRC Portland

An example of someone’s work at the IPRC. So funny, I think.

IPRC Portland

My last stop was in San Francisco, where I took a class from Jordan Ferney, author of the great blog, Oh Happy Day!

Jordan Ferney Letterpress

All in all, it was a dream of a vacation. Gorgeous surroundings, new friends, perfect weather, and learning a ton all at the same time. Perfection.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to The Reason For It All

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Reason For It All at blue eye brown eye.

meta

