Greta and Marshal

July 9, 2009 § Leave a comment

Greta and Marshal

Meet Greta and Marshal, my cake toppers. Aren't they fab!?

About a year ago I stumbled upon these amazingly cute bird cake toppers in a “real wedding” featured in Martha Stewart Magazine. Anyone who knows me knows I have this odd and obsessive affinity for birds and bird imagery. Thus, I was immediately drawn to these darlings on that fateful day. One dilemma: where do I get them?? Luckily, I’m a fiend on the internet and can google slueth my way to almost anything. My result? Ann Wood Handmade.

Ann Wood

Ann Wood makes these birds with pain-staking detail and original vintage lace, fabric, and other materials that make each little set of birdies 100% unique. Whats more, she gives each set a fancy little name like “Violet & Duffy,” “Bess & Ollie” or “Claude & Gus.” I couldn’t contain my excitement when I finally found Ann, but let me tell you, these things are hot commodities. She puts a few online on her etsy shop and, poof! They’re gone before you know it. But thank goodness for Terri (that’s my momma) because she stalked Ann until she got her little hands on a pair. What joy!

Ann Wood

Greta and Marshal finally arrived in the mail last week, and I was not disappointed. They’re wonderful. Ann Wood really is a true crafts(wo)man and I am so thrilled to have a pair of sweethearts of my own. To see more, check out Ann Wood’s blog, where she chronicles the making of her birds and many other trinkets and goodies.

Ann Wood

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Greta and Marshal at blue eye brown eye.

meta

